Top 10 favoritish Books…

OK, so it is really hard to decide my favorite 10 books… I know I’ve left some off that were great. Maybe I’ll write a follow-up post, my ten almost favorite books. Anyway for now here is my list (and it is just a coincidence that two of the books involve hippie communes… really)

  1. Great Expectations by Charles Dickens- So, there are major issues with this book… First of all why is Pip obsessed with Estella, who seems to be a superficial and cold character? I don’t know but that always bothers me every time I read this. I love Pip so much I think he deserves way more than Estella… but it was written a long time ago when men expected women to be items and not necessarily people. However, it is still my favorite book because Pip is an incredible character.
  2. Witches of Eastwick by John Updike- So, if I complained about the treatment of women characters in my previous selection this one more than makes up for it. Updike’s female characters are some of my favorites… briefly there was a TV show in 2009 that was based on this novel. It was amazing and I LOVED it… so obviously it was canceled.
  3. Drop City by TC Boyle- Hippie commune  book… but a great one. If you like TC Boyle do yourself a favor and don’t Google him, trust me you’re better off not knowing.
  4. A Heartbreaking Work of Staggering Genius by Dave Eggers- Some may dislike Eggers but I don’t care. I love this book. Just recently got my teen daughter to start reading it and I am hopeful she will love it as much as I do.
  5. Love in the Time of Cholera by Gabriel Garcia Marquez – This is the most romantic love story ever told… truly. Heartbreaking to hear of his recent passing. He was wonderful.
  6. The Beach by Alex Garland- Second hippie commune book on my list… That’s 20% hippie commune related books on my top 10. I love to travel so there is that connection but also I love the relationships that Richard finds himself in… I just love it. I’m also a fan of the movie. Robert hates this movie!  It’s definitely on my top ten list of movies I like to watch repeatedly.

    The  Beach by Alex Garland

    The Beach by Alex Garland

  7. The Sound and the Fury by William Faulkner- I’m a huge nerd. I traveled to Oxford. I’ve seen Faulkner’s house… and his grave. I’ve also traveled to Boston and stood on the bridge, in the spot I picture Quentin jumping from (the plaque has been stolen so there is no marker) I also found out recently that Yale posts a series of lectures to YouTube, amazing stuff. Also, heartbreaking to learn I was taught some very conflicting things about this book in University… I tend to believe Yale.
  8. Where I’m Calling From by Raymond Carver- Short stories are sometimes the best. I like this collection. This is his last collection before his death in 1988.
  9. The Fifth Child by Doris Lessing- Scary stuff… This may be the only horror book on this list, but I do enjoy reading scary books. It has a creepy kid and a farm house far far away… and many innocent children and animals will get harmed during your reading.
  10. The Best Awful by Carrie Fisher- I know she is not the best writer but she is pretty f’ing funny. I like all her books and it is hard for me to pick just one for my top ten list but I chose this one because I laughed out loud the most while reading it.
About TeaRomero

Mother, Runner, and English Bull Terrier enthusiast.
This entry was posted in Fun Stuff and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Top 10 favoritish Books…

  1. arriacross says:

    Great reading list.

Leave a Reply

