Dr. Maya Angelou May Your Soul Rest in Peace

neiko_bird copy

Artist: neikoart.com

 

I have been crying and fighting tears all day. Today society has suffered such a loss. To say that Dr. Maya Angelou was merely an influence on my life would be misleading. She held my hand every day I went through rape counseling, though we never met. I can confidently say that I owe my life to her. During counseling we had to pick out a card to give to ourselves (cheesy I know but it was an exercise) and I chose a card with a poem written by Dr. Angelou, I still keep it with me. When I read it I know that I can make it through. I was lucky enough to see her speak at UMKC in 2006, my husband took me. I remember her insistence that we are more alike than unalike… I cannot articulate how much her writings mean to me but I am who I am because I’ve read them.

I’ve heard it said that winter, too, will pass

And spring a sign that summer is due at last.

See, all we have to do is hang on– Maya Angelou 

About TeaRomero

Mother, Runner, and English Bull Terrier enthusiast.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

