About myself…

 

I am a native Texan, born in Fort Worth in 1978. While in Texas my parents moved more than I can count… As a child I also lived in New Mexico, Southern California, and Kansas. My parents currently reside in Arkansas.

When I graduated from high school in 1996 I had several scholarship offers, I was a photographer and artist. Due to circumstances beyond my control I was unable to follow my dream… I moved to Colorado for a short time. I worked three jobs, sold my car, and moved to Bucaramanga, Colombia.

I had a friend there and was able to stay with her family until I had a job and could afford my own place. I taught English and studied at the Universidad de Automomia. I stayed in Colombia for a year and a half. I was happy there, but the situation with the guerrillas was getting more dangerous. At one point the American Embassy had contacted me and asked me to return to the United States. As I had a fiancé at the time and was established in my job; I was not willing to leave. Things continued to get worst, massive slaughtering of villages was on the news every night. The school I worked for issued a restriction on any foreigner working for them not to travel anywhere within the country, they even sent a taxi to pick me up and take me to work when I lived right across the street from the school. Taking the taxi took more time than walking. Previously I was traveling all over the country by bus, naively of course. Eventually my fiancé convinced me to leave to Santiago, Chile for my own safety and he planned to meet me there once he received a Visa. I was extremely close to his family and he was my first love.

I arrived in Chile in 1998. Chile was very different and I was not happy. The climate there is seasonal, with occasional snow fall. It was quite shocking as I had been in a tropical paradise for the last year and a half. I settled in and got a job right away. I studied and received a Spanish language certificate at the Universidad de Chile. I worked as an English teacher and waited for my fiancé to come, but he never did. After a year in Chile I met someone.  We got married and six months later I returned to the states to have a baby. He moved to the states a few months following. I had a baby girl. Unfortunately, we had only been together a short time before we had gotten married, and I was also very young at the time, only 22. I was eventually able to have the marriage annulled.

I studied English at Rockhurst University. (Go Hawks!) I graduated in 2003. Then I began working toward a Masters degree in Education and I taught in KCMO school district. During this time I was attacked and raped, causing me to go into a terrible destructive spiral. Amazing all the solo international travels I had been on only to find harm at home. At the time I held everything in, all the pain I was going through. I was a very independent person before the attack, and afterward I could not even go to the grocery store by myself. I suffered flashbacks and was diagnosed with post traumatic stress disorder. During the next few years I met my current husband; I was offered a wonderful job, and I am now able to talk about my experience. I feel truly blessed to have such a wonderful life.

I am still in the process of deciding what my future holds. I decided to start this blog to chronicle my path and maybe offer encouragement to others.

About TeaRomero

Mother, Runner, and English Bull Terrier enthusiast.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to About myself…

  1. Mr WordPress says:

    Hi, this is a comment.
    To delete a comment, just log in, and view the posts’ comments, there you will have the option to edit or delete them.

Leave a Reply

